Photo of Senator Anwar.

State Senator

Saud Anwar

Representing East Hartford, Ellington, East Windsor and South Windsor

Follow Senator Anwar: Facebook icon.Twitter icon.

Sen. Anwar Joins Governor Lamont, East Hartford Delegation at Debut of UTC-Funded Jet Engine Testing Facility in East Hartford

EAST HARTFORD - State Senator Saud Anwar (D-South Windsor) joined a coalition of state and local leaders today including Governor Ned Lamont, Lieutenant Governor Susan Bysiewicz, U.S. Representatives John Larson and Richard Blumenthal, State Representatives Jason Rojas, East Hartford Mayor Marcia Leclerc and East Hartford Town Council Chairman Richard Kehoe at the debut and ribbon-cutting for United Technologies Research Center's new UTC-funded jet engine compressor testing facility.

"It is immensely gratifying to know our region has dedicated leaders investing in our collective future," said Sen. Anwar. "This new facility at UTC is state-of-the-art and represents their commitment to East Hartford and our community. I am honored to be here and will continue to support UTC as it prepares for the future of engine testing."

The lawmakers joined UTC leaders Monday for the official opening of the facility, which represents an investment of $40 million dollars into jet engine testing components. UTC representatives said the investment gives the company the ability to remain on the cutting edge of engine development technology, solidify East Hartford as its global innovation hub and create new opportunities for high-value, skilled work in East Hartford.

The facility also represents an opportunity for revitalizing and improving air travel. These advanced in-house compressors provide a true opportunity for increasing sustainability and efficiency of engines. This wouldn't just lower the costs of operation in the future, but would also allow for environmental savings reducing use of fossil fuels by significant amounts.







Legislative Office Building
Room 3300
Hartford, CT 06106-1591

Phone: 860-240-8600
Toll-free in CT: 1-800-842-1420
FAX: 860-240-0208

For general inquiries (will not be seen by legislators):

E-newsletter Signup


Facebook icon.Twitter icon.instagram icon.YouTube icon.