Photo of Senator Slossberg.

State Senator

Gayle Slossberg

Representing Milford, Orange, West Haven & Woodbridge

Follow Senator Slossberg: Facebook icon.YouTube icon.

Slossberg Welcomes Milford’s “Youth of the Year” to State Capitol

Julie Myers and thirteen other Boys & Girls Club Youth of the Year members welcomed to Senate Chamber

photo of Senator Slossberg.

Senator Gayle Slossberg (D-Milford) led the state Senate in offering a warm welcome to the fourteen Boys & Girls Club “Youths of the Year.” The group of young men and women represented Boys & Girls Clubs from throughout Connecticut. Milford’s own “Youth of the Year,” Julie Myers, was also in attendance and congratulated by Slossberg.

“I was such a pleasure to meet all the Boys & Girls Club Youth of the Year, and especially Julie Myers of Milford,” said Senator Slossberg. “Julie is a student at Jonathan Law High School and a truly impressive young woman who has showed great poise and determination. I hope she and the other Youths of the Year enjoyed their time visiting the General Assembly, as we certainly enjoyed meeting them. I wish them the best of luck and look forward to hearing more from them all in the future.”

Since 1947, Youth of the Year has been Boys & Girls Clubs of America’s premier recognition program, celebrating the extraordinary achievements of Club members.

The Youth of the Year members, embody the values of leadership and service; academic excellence; and healthy lifestyles. They are examples of the critical impact that Boys & Girls Clubs have on the lives of young people.

The full list of Boys & Girls Clubs Youth of the Year is as follows:

Catalina Carmona, Ridgefield Boys & Girls Club
Daniel P. Brey, Boys & Girls Club of Redding-Easton
Danny Ruiz, Boys & Girls Club of Greater Waterbury
Gabrielle Galletta, Wakeman Boys & Girls Club
Jarelyn Sandoval, Ulbrich Boys & Girls Club
Sabrina Maldonado, Lower Naugatuck Valley Boys & Girls Club
Jillian Maghini, Bristol Boys & Girls Club Association
Julie Myers, Boys & Girls Club of Milford
Kevin Harris, Boys & Girls Club of New Britain
Mackenzie Vargas, Boys & Girls Club of Stamford
Nico Venegas, Boys & Girls Club of Greenwich
Jazaira Selena Perez-Acevedo, Boys & Girls Club of Hartford
Zachary Cleetus, New London Naval Submarine Base
Z'hane Ellison, Boys & Girls Club of New Haven






Legislative Office Building
Room 3300
Hartford, CT 06106-1591

Phone: 860-240-8600
Toll-free in CT: 1-800-842-1420
FAX: 860-240-0208

For general inquiries (will not be seen by legislators):

E-newsletter Signup


Facebook icon.Twitter icon.instagram icon.YouTube icon.