Martin M. Looney

Senate President Pro Tempore

Martin M. Looney

An Advocate for Us

December 22, 2016

Looney and Fasano Reach Bipartisan Agreement on Management of the State Senate

Democratic and Republican leaders announced today that they have reached an agreement to cooperatively manage the Connecticut State Senate over the next two years.

“It was critical that Democrats and Republicans work together to reach a fair compromise to ensure that the Senate is able to conduct its business and move Connecticut forward,” said Senate President Pro Tempore Martin M. Looney (D-New Haven). “With bipartisan power comes bipartisan responsibility and accountability. Today’s announcement would not have been possible without Senator Fasano’s leadership and commitment to working together throughout this process. I look forward to continuing our partnership when the legislative session convenes on January 4th.”

“I want to thank Sen. Looney for his hard work to reach this agreement when he has much on his mind. This agreement sets a historic precedent for lawmakers to work together, no matter which party holds the Office of the Lieutenant Governor, and respect a relationship of equal power as decided by Connecticut voters,” said the Senate Republican President Pro Tempore Len Fasano (R-North Haven). “Senator Looney and I have known each other for many years and we have an enormous amount of respect for one another. I appreciate his leadership and partnership in putting together this agreement to ensure a smooth transition this coming legislative session. Our goal is to do what is in the best interest of our state, and that includes respecting those who voted for balance and an evenly split state Senate. We have become a chamber of equals, and now we have a plan to maintain that equality in all day to day legislative business.”

A few points included in the agreement are as follows: Senator Martin M. Looney (D-New Haven) will remain Senate President Pro Tempore. Senator Len Fasano (R-North Haven) will serve as the Senate Republican President Pro Tempore. Senator Bob Duff (D-Norwalk) will remain the Senate Majority Leader. Senator Kevin Witkos (R-Canton) will serve as the Deputy Senate Republican President Pro Tempore.

There will be an equal number of Democratic and Republican senators on legislative committees and each committee will be led by a Democratic and Republican Senate co-chair. Both Senate chairs will have the right to split a committee, thereby allowing each chair an equal influence over Senate bills and agendas.

Under the agreed upon rule changes, all budget and budget implementer bills presented through the emergency certification (e-cert) process will have to be released to the public at least 12 hours before the Senate takes up any such bills.