Martin M. Looney

Senate President Pro Tempore

Martin M. Looney

An Advocate for Us

November 7, 2017

Senate President Pro Tempore Looney Appoints Patrick Egan to the State’s Municipal Accountability Review Board

Senate President Pro Tempore Martin M. Looney (D-New Haven) today announced that he has appointed Patrick J. Egan of New Haven to serve on the state’s new Municipal Accountability and Review Board.

The Municipal Accountability and Review Board, created as part of the recently approved biennium budget, establishes an oversight board that will work with financially distressed cities and towns in order to avoid insolvency or bankruptcy.

Egan served for 21 years as a member of the New Haven Fire Department, rising to the rank of Assistant Chief / Executive Officer (2010-2016) where he assisted in overseeing budgetary, administrative, personnel and labor matters. Prior to his appointment as Assistant Chief, Egan served as President of the New Haven Firefighters, IAFF Local 825 for nearly ten years. Egan retired from the NHFD in 2016.

“For more than twenty years, Pat Egan served the people of New Haven as a firefighter, union president and Assistant Chief of the department,” said Senator Looney. “Pat’s valuable experience managing a municipal department’s budget in excess of $30 million, developing cost controls, engaging in complex labor negotiations and knowledge of the state’s collective bargaining laws makes him uniquely qualified to serve on the Municipal Accountability and Review Board. I am most grateful for his willingness to serve on this critically important board.”

“Having many years of experience working in municipal government both as a union leader and manager, I look forward to working with the members of the board and the respective municipalities that need our assistance to re-establish a sound fiscal roadmap to success, while being mindful that not only taxpayers but also employees are affected by our decisions,” Egan said.

Once complete, the board will be composed of 11 members—five appointed by the governor and four appointed by legislative leaders. The Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management and the State Treasurer or their designees will also serve on the board.