James Maroney


James Maroney



February 5, 2021

General Law Committee Holds Public Hearing to Discuss Alcohol Statutes in Connecticut

Today, the General Law Committee held a public hearing to discuss the codifying of the Governor’s executive order that allows particular businesses to sell alcohol for ‘to-go’ orders, a bill that would allow the sale of wine in grocery stores, and a self-pour automated system which allows for a consumer directed experience, which is a growing trend.

The proposal also discussed during the public hearing included alcohol and big box stores. The committee is only considering allowing larger stores such as Costco to sell beer in the main store if that store already has a package store permit.

State Senator James Maroney (D-Milford), Chair of the General Law Committee, is working with fellow legislators to finalize the language for the bills regarding alcohol statutes in Connecticut.

“With these particular proposals, it is my focus to make sure we are protecting consumers and the consumer’s choice,” said Sen. Maroney. “I have seen throughout the coronavirus pandemic, consumers have enjoyed the ability to have breweries deliver as well as be able to purchase alcoholic beverages when placing an order at a restaurant to go. I would like to see what has been working out for consumers and what has been proved to be popular amongst several orders to continue.”

The bill, AN ACT CONCERNING VARIOUS ISSUES RELATED TO THE LIQUOR CONTROL ACT, also known as HB6101, proposes grocery stores that already sell beer to be able to sell wine. Under the same bill, large retail stores with over 6,000 square feet of floor space and at least 20 percent dedication of grocery sales, would be allowed to sell beer in the store, provided they already have a liquor permit. Also, under the bill, there would be a three year extension allowing breweries and restaurants the ability to deliver alcohol in sealed containers for consumption in a take-out order. This adjustment was made during the coronavirus pandemic and has been well received by numerous consumers and the industry.

The bill, AN ACT CONCERNING CERTAIN ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE SYSTEMS, also known as SB 265, would allow a self-pour automated system that once a form of card payment is used, a person who is 21 years of age or older will be able to dispense beer or cider not exceeding six percent of alcohol by volume.