Norm Needleman


Norm Needleman



September 28, 2022

Senator Needleman Selected To Receive Cost’s “Town Crier” Award For Supporting Connecticut Small Towns

State Senator Norm Needleman (D-Essex) was selected to receive the Connecticut Council of Small Towns’ “Town Crier Award” for 2022 in recognition of his leadership role in championing the interests of small towns in the state at the state Capitol. Sen. Needleman was one of four lawmakers to receive the designation, for reasons including his support of energy policies benefitting small towns, seeking solutions to major issues impacting the state and his status as the first selectman of Essex in addition to his work in the Senate.

“Connecticut’s 169 municipalities all operate separately. There’s no one-size-fits-all approach that will meet the needs of every town and city, and many attempts to find such solutions lead to small towns facing significant issues,” said Sen. Needleman. “I’m proud to receive this designation from COST for my support of small towns, which comprise the majority of my Senate District. I will continue to fight for full municipal funding, continuation of vital local services and policies putting small communities on even footing with Connecticut’s largest.”

COST awards the Town Crier Award to individuals who distinguish themselves as leaders supporting Connecticut’s small towns. COST Executive Director Betsy Gara said Sen. Needleman understands the impacts of policies on property taxpayers and operations in local offices.

“COST appreciates his longstanding commitment to fighting for Connecticut’s small towns, both as a first selectman and state senator,” Gara said.

Among specific policies inspiring COST’s provision of the award, the organization mentioned Sen. Needleman’s efforts to expand clean energy production and increase solar installation capacity, as well as his help in the development of common-sense solutions to address issues affecting small towns including municipal solid waste management and enhancements to the Resident State Trooper program.

State Senator Tony Hwang, State Representative Maria Horn and State Representative Joe Zullo additionally received the distinction from COST.